LettucePULLMAN, Wash. – Washington State University Extension’s Cultivating Success courses are designed to make starting and maintaining a farm business easier. The courses are offered regularly in counties across the state and can be taken in any order. Registration is open for fall courses.

Sustainable Small Farming and Ranching features farmer speakers from a variety of agricultural operations, and students create a whole farm plan. In Agriculture Entrepreneurship and Business Planning, participants hear from lawyers, accountants, bankers and others and complete a business plan.

A new course, Advancing Your Farm Plan – Managing Risk, will be offered in Snohomish and Spokane counties. Designed to help those who have already taken the two core courses or who have an established business, marketing or whole farm plan, the course will help students take their plans to the next level. Visit http://ext100.wsu.edu/snohomish/advancing-your-farm-plan/ for more information.

Courses generally occur one evening per week for 8-12 weeks. Tuition range is $150-$275. Limited scholarships are available, and courses can be taken for continuing education units.

Locations that offer classes starting in September or later are:
–          Jefferson and Clallam counties – contact Kellie Henwood at kellie.henwood@wsu.edu
–          Kitsap County – contact Laura Ryser at laura.ryser@wsu.edu
–          Mason County – contact Mary Dimatteo at mary.dimatteo@wsu.edu
–          Pierce County – contact Brian Bodah at bbodah@wsu.edu
–          Skagit County – contact Kate Selting at kate.selting@wsu.edu
–          Snohomish and Spokane counties – contact Kate Halstead at khalstead@.wsu.edu
–          Whatcom County – contact Chris Elder at christopher.elder@wsu.edu

For more information, visit http://cultivatingsuccess.wsu.edu.

 

Contact:
Hannah Cavendish-Palmer, Cultivating Success coordinator, 360-305-6078, hacp@wsu.edu