prosperity-conference-logoPULLMAN, Wash. – Rural communities will identify ways to build their local economies by creating places for businesses to thrive with help from Becky McCray, a national expert in entrepreneurship.

The Nov. 15 Rural Pathways to Prosperity Conference invites chambers of commerce, entrepreneurs, government officials and economic development leaders in more than a dozen locations across the state to participate in the unique format of this interactive forum.

McCray, co-author of “Small Town Rules: How Big Brands and Small Businesses Can Prosper in a Connected Economy,” will deliver a keynote presentation via webinar to locations listed below. Then participants at each site will turn their attention to the specific issues, resources and project ideas for their local communities.

There will be time for networking over lunch and then the sites will work together on ways to improve how they support entrepreneurs.

The conference will be 8:30 a.m.-3 p.m. Friday, Nov. 15. Register by Nov. 8 at http://waruralprosperity.wsu.edu.

Persons with a disability requiring special accommodation while participating in this program may call Washington State University Stevens County Extension at 509-684-2588.

Conference sponsors include WSU Extension, Washington State Department of Commerce, Association of Washington Cities, Washington Microenterprise Association, U.S. Department of Agriculture-Rural Development and the state Workforce Training and Education Coordinating Board.

Nov. 18-24 is international Global Entrepreneurship Week (GEW). The state commerce department plans activities cross the state; visit http://www.commerce.wa.gov.

 

Sites Local Contact Venue
Chehalis In Lewis County Sheila Gray, WSU   Extension(360) 740-1214Sheila.Gray@lewiscountywa.gov Lewis County Old Historic   Courthouse,Meeting room 003351 NW North StreetChehalis, WA 98532
ClarkstonReaching Asotin and Whitman Counties Mark Heitstuman, WSU Extension(509) 243-2009heitstuman@wsu.edu Clarkston Campus of   Walla Walla Community College, Lecture Room,1470 Bridge Street, Clarkston, WA  99402
Colville Reaching   Stevens, Ferry and
Pend Oreille Counties
Krisan LeHew, WSU   Extension(509) 690-8400Krisan@wsu.edu WSU Stevens County Extension Office986 S. MainColville, WA  99114
Grandview In Yakima County Jessica Hansen, Port of Grandview(509) 882-9975jessica@portofgrandview.org Grandview   Library207 West   Second StreetGrandview,   WA 98930
Hartline in Grant County Emily BraunwartGrant County Economic Development Council   (509) 764-6579emily@grantedc.com The Historic Hartline   School92 Chelan StreetHartline
Odessa in Lincoln County Margie Hall
Lincoln County Economic Development Council
(509) 725-1170edcmargie@centurylink.net
Any Occasion Banquet Hall3 West First Ave.Odessa, WA 99159
OlympiaIn Thurston County Lucas Patzek, WSU Extension360-867-2151lpatzek@wsu.edu WSU   Thurston County Extension5033   Harrison Ave. NWOlympia,   WA 98506
OmakIn Okanagan County Roni Holder-Diefenbach, Economic Alliance(509) 826-5107rholderdiefenbach@economic-alliance.com Havillah Road Printing and   Business Center208 S MainOmak, WA 98841
Pasco Reaching Benton and Franklin Counties Ana Maria Martinez, WSU Extension(509) 545-3511anamaria.martinez@wsu.edu Location to be determined
Rosburg Serving  Wahkiakum and   Pacific Counties Carrie Backman, WSU   Extension(360) 795-3278carrie.backman@wsu.edu Johnson Park Community Center4188 W SR4Rosburg, WA
Sedro-Woolleyin Skagit County Debra   Peterson, City of Sedro-Woolley   Library(360) 855-1166dpeterson@ci.sedro-woolley.wa.us Sedro-Woolley   City Hall325 Metcalf StreetSedro-Woolley, WA   98284
SequimReaching Clallam   and Jefferson counties Clea Rome, WSU Extension(360) 417-2279clea.rome@wsu.edu Jamestown S’Klallam Tribal   CenterRed Cedar Room1033 Old Blyn HighwaySequim, WA 98382
StevensonReaching SkamaniaAnd Klickitat Counties Linda Williams, WSU   Extension(509) 773-5817lindaj@gorge.net Skamania County Extension Office710 Rock Creek DriveStevenson, WA 98648
WenatcheeReaching Chelan and Douglas Counties Ray Faini, WSU   Extension(509) 667-6540faini@wsu.edu Confluence Technology   Center285 Technology Center WayWenatchee, WA 98801

 

Contacts:

Debra Hansen, WSU Extension, 509-684-2588, debra.hansen@wsu.edu

Krisan LeHew, WSU Extension, 509-690-8400, krisan@wsu.edu