Jeshua Anderson, middle, wins third NCAA championship in June. Photo courtesy of WSU Athletics
WALNUT CREEK, Calif. — Washington State’s Jeshua Anderson, four-time Pacific-10 Conference intermediate hurdles champion, three-time NCAA champion and newly crowned USA champion, is the Pac-10 Male Track Athlete of the Year, CEO Larry Scott announced Monday.
A good year for Anderson
Anderson, a senior from Woodland Hills, Calif., has had a stellar year including his win Sunday at the USA Track & Field Championships in a school-record and US-leading time of 47.93 seconds. He will represent the United States at both the World University Games Aug.12-23, in Shenzhen, China, and at the IAAF World Championships in Athletics, Aug. 27 – Sept. 4, at Daegu, Korea.
He had run the previous US-leading time in the 400m hurdles of 48.13 seconds this spring in Tucson winning his fourth consecutive Pac-10 title. Anderson was selected the 2006 Pac-10 Track & Field Male Newcomer of the Year and is only the third man to go on to the Athlete of the Year award since the newcomer award began in 2000.
Anderson, who plans to continue training in Pullman with his collegiate coach Mark Macdonald, will make his professional debut July 22, at the Herculis Meet in Monaco, part of the Diamond League series.
Previous athletes of the year
Washington State’s previous male athletes honored as track or field athletes of the year by the Pac-10 include:
  • Anson Henry, sprinter, 2002
  • Bernard Lagat, middle distance, 1999
  • Josephat Kapkory, distance, 1994
  • Samuel Kibiri, distance, 1991
  • Gabriel Tiacoh, triple jump, 1986
Athletes and coaches of the year
The Pac-10 Track & Field and Coach of the Year awards for 2011:
  • Women’s track athlete of the year: Nia Ali, USC
  • Women’s Field Athlete of the year: Brigetta Barrett, Arizona
  • Women’s Freshman/Newcomer of the year: English Gardner, Oregon
  • Women’s Coach of the year: Fred Harvey, Arizona


2011 athlete of the year awards
  • Men’s track athlete of the year: Jeshua Anderson, Washington State
  • Men’s field athlete of the year: Jordan Clarke, Arizona State
  • Men’s freshman/newcomer of the year: Stephen Sambu, Arizona
  • Men’s coach of the year: Fred Harvey, Arizona