PULLMAN, Wash. – Two faculty members and one staff member deeply involved in preparing the next generation of teachers have won the top 2011 awards presented by the Washington State University College of Education.
At an awards meeting Tuesday, Dean A.G. Rud announced that:

•Instructor Maria Moscatelli of WSU Tri-Cities won the Faculty Excellence in Service Award. She was lauded for bringing integration, coordination and high standards of performance to the Teacher Professional Certification program, which she coordinates, and to the pre-service teaching experiences of WSU students.

•Assistant Professor Eric Johnson, also on the Tri-Cities campus, won the Faculty Excellence Award in Teaching. He is known, his nominator said, “for developing courses that stimulate inquiry and promote a desire for further exploration.”
•Heidi Ritter won the Staff Excellence Award. Ritter is program coordinator for the Field Services Office on the Pullman campus. She is responsible for coordinating practicum and student teaching experiences for education majors and was described as “the glue that keeps things together” in a busy office.


All three work in the Department of Teaching and Learning. The department also gave awards to the following faculty members: Associate Professor Susan Rae Banks-Joseph of Pullman for service to the profession, Associate Professor Amy Roth McDuffie of Tri-Cities for external funding, and Associate Professor Pamela Bettis of Pullman for mentoring.
French Trevisan

The Department of Educational Leadership and Counseling Psychology recognized Associate Professor Michele Acker-Hocevar of the Tri-Cities for service to the profession, Associate Professor Brian French of Pullman for external funding, and Professor Mike Trevisan of Pullman for mentoring.

Morrison Crawford Gates Nelson
Campus awards for collaboration and networking went to Associate Professor Judy Morrison of WSU Tri-Cities, Clinical Assistant Professor Tammy Crawford of WSU Pullman, Associate Professor Gordon Gates of WSU Spokane, and Tamara Nelson of WSU Vancouver.
The College of Education also recently presented its annual Faculty Funding Awards, which are grants of up to $5,000 for a faculty member or $9,000 for a faculty team. The awards are used to develop research programs and generate journal publications and/or proposals for external funding. Award winners for 2011 are, by campus:
Adesope French
Trevisan Furman
Huggins Kucer Pitre

•WSU Pullman: Assistant Professor Olusola Adesope, Associate Professor Brian French, Assistant Professor David Cassels Johnson, Assistant Professor Pauline Sameshima, Professor Mike Trevisan

•WSU Spokane: Professor Gail Furman
•WSU Tri-Cities: Associate Professor Michele Acker-Hocevar, Assistant Professor Chad Lochmiller
•WSU Vancouver: Assistant Professor Kristin Huggins, Associate Professor Stephen Kucer, Assistant Professor Paul Pitre