Dean Doug Epperson, right, presents
the CLA Dean’s Outstanding Contribution
Award to Bill Andrefsky.
PULLMAN, Wash. – Washington State University’s College of Liberal Arts held its 2011 awards ceremony April 21 to recognize faculty and staff for outstanding scholarly and creative research, teaching, and professional and institutional service.
Eugene Rosa, professor of sociology and Edward R. Meyer Distinguished Professor of Natural Resource and Environmental Policy, received the Outstanding Career Achievement in Scholarship Award for his work in the areas of energy technology, risk perception and assessment, and human environmental relations.
Tahira Probst, professor of psychology at WSU Vancouver, was awarded the Mid-Career Achievement in Scholarship Award for her research in the field of occupational health psychology.
Early Achievement in Scholarship Awards were presented to Travis Ridout, associate professor of political science, and Matthew Sutton, associate professor of history. Ridout was recognized for his research on political campaigns and the use of media in political advertising.
Sutton was selected for his research into the rise of evangelical political influence in the 20th century. His first book won Harvard University Press’s Thomas J. Wilson Memorial Prize for best first book in any discipline and became the basis for the Public Broadcasting Service documentary “Sister Aimee.”
David Pietz, associate professor of history and director of the WSU Asia Program, received the Outstanding Achievement in International Teaching, Research/Creative Activities, and/or Service Award for his research on the intersections of environmental policy, modern Chinese history and globalizations, and for his leadership at WSU in the development of Asian studies and global studies programs.
The Excellence in Professional Service (Public Agency or Discipline) Award was presented to Amy Mazur, professor of political science, whose research on gender and politics is internationally recognized. She cofounded the Research Network on Gender Politics and the State and recently launched the Global Gender Expertise Project.
The Dean’s Outstanding Contribution Award was presented to William Andrefsky, professor of anthropology, for his service to WSU as an administrator, teacher and mentor, his exceptional research and publications record, and his contributions to the field of archaeology. He recently won the Society for American Archaeology’s Excellence in Archaeological Analysis Award, and his archaeological field school was chosen by the SAA as the model field method class in the nation.
Sabine Davis, clinical associate professor of foreign languages and cultures, received the award for Excellence in Teaching by a Clinical Faculty Member or Instructor. Rachel Halverson, associate professor of foreign languages and cultures, and Lori Wiest, associate professor of music, were recognized as outstanding teachers with the William F. Mullen Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching Award.
Erich Lear, professor of music and former dean of the college, received the Excellence in Institutional Service Award for his service as an administrator and for development work that resulted in significant external funding to the college.
The Administrative Professional Excellence Award was presented to Michael Gaffney, acting director of the Division of Governmental Studies and Services, for his strong leadership and network-building skills and deep commitment to WSU’s outreach mission.
Twenty-five-year service awards were presented to Paul Phillip, director of administrative services, and Patricia Thorsten-Mickelson, manager of the Wilson-Short Division. Thirty- and thirty-five-year service awards were presented to Lynn Gordon, professor of English, and Laurie Heustis, academic advisor in the Northwest Division, respectively.
Recognized for service as department chairs were Gerald Berthiaume, music; Gail Chermak, speech and hearing sciences; Laurilyn Harris, theatre and dance; and John Hinson, psychology.
Retirees recognized at the event were Michael P. Allen, sociology; Thomas Brigham, psychology; Terry Converse and Harris, theatre and dance; Birgitta Ingemanson, foreign languages and cultures; Nicholas Lovrich, political science; and Richard Williams, history.