Public concert schedule
Feb. 4
11:10 a.m. New works by WSU student composers, Kimbrough concert hall.
8 p.m. New works by faculty composers Ryan M. Hare, David Jarvis, H. James Schoepflin, Aleksander Sternfeld-Dunn and Gregory Yasinitsky, Bryan theater.
Feb. 5
3:10 p.m. All-electroacoustic concert, Kimbrough.
Feb. 6
8 p.m. Original works by guest composer Robert Carl, Kimbrough.
PULLMAN – The 2010 Festival of Contemporary Art Music, featuring guest composer Robert Carl, will be hosted by the School of Music Feb. 4-6.
The culminating concert of original works by Carl will be performed by WSU music faculty and students at 8 p.m. Saturday, Feb. 6, in Kimbrough concert hall. All festival concerts are free to the public.
For two decades the Festival of Contemporary Art Music has showcased contemporary classical music, presenting concerts of new original compositions by students, faculty and a visiting artist.
Over the years the festival has included such notables as Michael Schelle, William Kraft, Libby Larson, Morten Lauridsen, John Corigliano, Eric Whitacre and, most recently, Charles Argersinger, a retired WSU professor and the festival’s founder.
American-born composer Carl, 55, is professor of composition and theory and chair of the composition department in the Hartt School at the University of Hartford, Conn. His music has been widely published, recorded and performed in the U.S. and Europe.
Carl studied with such notable composers as Jonathan Kramer, George Rochberg, Ralph Shapey and Iannis Xenakis and received his musical training at Yale University, University of Pennsylvania, University of Chicago and as a Lurcy post-doctoral fellow at the Conservatoire National Supérieur de Musique et de Danse de Paris.

Awards honoring Carl’s achievements as a composer include the Tanglewood Music Center C.D. Jackson Award (1979), National Endowment for the Arts fellowship (1981), American Composers Alliance Recording Award (1987), Connecticut Commission on the Arts fellowship (1996), American Academy of Arts and Letters Charles Ives Fellowship (1998), and Copland Heritage Association Aaron Copland Award (1998).
For more information, please visit