NEW YORK CITY – Former Washington State University men’s basketball guard Kyle Weaver was selected by the Charlotte Bobcats as the No. 38th overall pick in the in the second round of the 2008 NBA draft Thursday.

Weaver becomes the first Cougar drafted
since Mark Hendrickson was taken as the 31st overall pick in the second round of the 1996 NBA draft by the Philadelphia 76ers. He is the 29th Cougar to be drafted and just the ninth WSU player to be taken in the draft in the last 25 years. At number 38, Weaver is the fifth-highest Cougar ever drafted. Weaver joins D.J. Augustin and Alexis Ajinca who were drafted by the Bobcats in the first round.

A native of Beloit, Wis., Weaver started 103 of the 121 games he played in his career. He became the 29th Cougar to score 1,000 points when he went 8-for-8 from the field with 17 points against USC Feb. 9, 2008, finishing his career with 1,162 points which ranks 17th in WSU’s career record books.

Weaver ranks on WSU’s all-time list in 11 other categories, including assists (second, 465) and steals (third, 188). He is believed to be the first student-athlete in Pac-10 history to have at least 1,000 points, 500 rebounds, 450 assists, 175 steals and 75 blocked shot in a career. Weaver recorded the first triple double in WSU history with 14 points, 13 rebounds and 10 assists against Stanford Jan. 13, 2007.

As a senior Weaver was named to the All-Pacific-10 second team, Pacific-10 All-Defensive Team, USBWA Men’s All-District IX Team, NABC District 14 First Team and Honorable Mention All-American. As a junior he earned All-Pacific-10 First Team, NABC District 14 First Team and Pac-10 MVP honors.

Weaver, along with former WSU teammate Derrick Low, represented the United States as a member of the 12-man 2007 Pan American Games men’s basketball team.


All-Time Cougar Draft Choices
Year Player, Team (Round/selection)
1948 Vince Hanson, Baltimore
1950 Ed Gayda, Tri-Cities
1952 Gene Conley, Boston
1955 Ron Bennink, Ft. Wayne (3rd/24th)
1962 Terry Ball, St. Louis (8th/65th)
Charlie Sells, St. Louis (10th/83rd)
1965 Ted Werner, St. Louis (5th/44th)
1968 Jim McKean, Seattle (7th/80th)
1969 Ted Wierman, Detroit (4th/47th)
1970 Rick Erickson, San Diego (19th/237th)
1971 Dennis Hogg, Baltimore (7th/111th)
Jim Meredith, Cleveland (10th/153rd)
1972 Dan Steward, Seattle (10th/151st)
1976 Ron Davis, Atlanta (5th/70th)
Norton Barnhill, Seattle (8th/134th)
1977 Steve Puidokas, Washington (3rd/57th)
Harold Rhodes, Portland (8th/170th)
1979 James Donaldson, Seattle (4th/73rd)
1980 Don Collins, Atlanta (1st/18th)
Stuart House, Cleveland (3rd/53rd)
1983 Guy Williams, Washington (2nd/34th)
Craig Ehlo, Houston (3rd/48th)
Steve Harriel, Kansas City (3rd/60th)
Aaron Haskins, Kansas City (10th/219th)
1986 Keith Morrison, Sacramento (5th/103rd)
1987 Dwayne Scholten, Washington (6th/128th)
1989 Brian Quinnett, New York (2nd/50th)
1996 Mark Hendrickson, Philadelphia (2nd/31st)
2008 Kyle Weaver, Charlotte Bobcats (2nd/38th)