Nominations for recipients of honorary doctoral degrees are being sought by the Honorary Doctoral Degree Committee of the President’s Office. The deadline for submitting nominations to chair Robert Greenberg is Monday, Dec. 6.

Nomination forms can be found at Recipients must have achieved eminence in their fields and made literary, artistic or scientific contributions that enhance the intellectual climate at WSU. Honorary degrees may not be awarded to WSU graduates or in consideration of donations. Recipients will receive their degrees at spring commencement in May.

Accompanying the nomination form should be a detailed letter of nomination, complete biographical material (resume or curriculum vitae) and the names and addresses of three individuals who have direct knowledge of the nominee and his or her accomplishments. No disclosure is to be made to the nominee while his or her name is under consideration.

Complete nomination packages should be mailed or delivered to: Dr. Robert Greenberg, Chair; Honorary Doctoral Degree Committee; P.O. Box 641048; French Ad 422; Pullman, WA 99164-1048.

If the committee recommends a nominee, all materials are submitted simultaneously to the president of the university and to the Faculty Senate Steering Committee. If both recommend the nominee, all materials are submitted to the Board of Regents, which makes a final decision as to awarding of the degree. The regents may elect not to award any honorary degrees in a given year, or they may decide that up to three individuals are worthy of this special recognition.

Some previous recipients have included U.S. Poet Laureate Howard Nemerov, 1990; WSU President C. Clement French, 1966; and Boeing Co. founder William Edward Boeing, 1947.

The Honorary Degree Committee is composed of six members (including the chair) appointed by the president and six chosen by the Faculty Senate Steering Committee. Committee members serve three-year staggered terms. The provost and dean of the Graduate School serve as ex-officio members.

Current appointed members are: Greenberg, chair; Howard Hosick; Sandra Ristow; Dong Zheng-Min; Anneliese Andrews; Keith Blatner; Dennis Dyck; Mike Miller; Darcy Miller; Jay Wright; Joseph Harding; and Greg Hooks.

More information can be found at