• WSU Spokane interior design graduate student Kate Hauge received the grand prize of $3,500 in the 2004 International Interior Design Association Sustainable Design Student Competition. Each year the IIDA sponsors the contest, open to interior design students from around the world. Sustainable office design seeks to create a healthy and productive working environment while reducing the consumption of nonrenewable resources and minimizing waste.

• John Fabian of Port Ludlow, a retired NASA astronaut, has been appointed to the WSU Board of Regents by Gov. Gary Locke. Fabian, who earned a bachelor of science degree in mechanical engineering from WSU in 1962, will replace William Marler on the board. Marler stepped down to join the state Higher Education Coordinating Board. Fabian’s term will run through Sept. 30, 2009. He received the WSU Regents’ Distinguished Alumnus Award in 1983.

• WSU Vancouver Chancellor Hal Dengerink has been recognized as one of the region’s 50 great leaders by Oregon Business magazine. The October issue honored 50 leaders in Oregon who make things happen, reach new heights in their industry and remain committed to their community. Dengerink was the only Washington state honoree and the only one from a public university.

• James H. Clark, Craig Gable, Norman E. Looney and L. George Wilson recently received WSU Alumni Achievement Awards. Clark is vice president and senior project manager of Black & Veatch Corp., a global engineering/construction firm. Gable is on the alumni board, is past president of the alumni association, and is a senior management executive who consults for Moss Adams, one of the largest accounting and business consulting fi rms in the country. Looney is president of the Pacifi c Agri-Food Research Center in Summerland, B.C., and president of the International Society for Horticultural Science. Wilson is vice provost for international affairs and professor of horticultural science at NC State University.

• Music professor James Schoepfl in has been appointed to the Executive Committee of Humanities Washington, a nonprofi t organization and public foundation providing cultural and educational programs to the people of Washington State.

Susan Dente Ross, associate professorof communication in the Edward R. Murrow School of Communication, has been awarded a Fulbright Scholar grant to conduct research and teach at the University of the Aegean in Mytilene, Lesbos, Greece, during the 2004-2005 academic year. Her primary research will involve detailed analysis of Greek and American media portrayals of Palestine, Israel and Iraq. Ross is one of approximately 800 U.S. faculty and professionals who will travel abroad to some 140 countries during the year through the Fulbright Scholar Program. Established in 1946, the program’s purpose is to build mutual understanding between the people of the U.S. and other nations.

Markus Keller, a horticulturist at WSU’s Prosser Irrigated Agriculture Research and Extension Center, has been designated the Chateau Ste. Michelle Distinguished Professor in Viticulture. “Markus has a vision for the future of the industry and the direction it needs to go,” said Ray Folwell, director of WSU’s viticulture and enology program. “He knows what type of research is needed to support the industry’s development.” The Chateau Ste. Michelle winery
established the distinguished professorship to help WSU attract and retain a world-renowned scholar and practitioner with special expertise in the science of viticulture.

Jim Petersen received Iowa State University’s Professional Achievement Citation in Engineering (PACE). This citation was established to recognize alumni eminently known for their professional competence and creativity and is given for superior technical or professional accomplishments in the areas of research, development, administration, education and other engineering activity. Petersen received his Ph.D. in chemical engineering from Iowa State University in 1979.