PULLMAN, Wash. — The Rotary Club of Pullman recognized Washington State University President V. Lane Rawlins’ high standards of professional and business ethics in the governance of WSU by presenting him with an honorary Paul Harris Fellow award today (March 9).

John T. Brewer, Pullman Rotarian and past district governor for the Inland Empire and Eastern British Columbia Rotary clubs (District 5080), made the presentation at the Pullman Chamber of Commerce’s monthly luncheon at the Quality Inn in Pullman. Rawlins was guest speaker at the luncheon.

The Paul Harris award is named for the founder of Rotary International and is generally given to members when their cumulative contributions to the Rotary Foundation or contributions made in their name total $1,000 or more. 

The foundation funds educational and humanitarian programs around the world.

Pullman Rotary officials say oftentimes members, who qualify for the award more than once, elect to use their qualification to create an honorary Paul Harris Fellow in tribute to another Rotarian whom they wish to honor. Brewer chose to use this practice to honor President Rawlins.

Ethical practices are a revered Rotary tenet, Brewer said.  “We as a community are grateful to Dr. Rawlins for consistently upholding Rotary tenets in both his personal and professional life.”  Each new Paul Harris Fellow receives a commemorative certificate, a Paul Harris Fellow pin and a medallion.

Rawlins has been a member of Rotary since 1977.  He joined the international organization through the Pullman club, and though his schedule prevents regular attendance at meetings, he has been an honorary member of Pullman Rotary since he became president of WSU in 2000, after serving as the University of Memphis president.

His association with WSU began in 1968, when he joined the faculty of the Department of Economics. He chaired the department from 1977 to 1981 and served as WSU vice provost from 1982 to 1986.

Brewer thanked Rawlins and his wife, Mary Jo Rawlins, for opening the WSU president’s residence for the Rotary Past District Governors dinner in connection with the 2003 District 5080 Conference held in Pullman and Moscow, June 2003.

The Rotary Foundation funds educational and humanitarian programs around the world.

Other Pullman Rotarians who recently received first-time, repeat or honorary awards as Paul Harris fellows are Debi Dockins, Moscow, Idaho; and Dick Fry, Bill Gaskins, Karen Kruse, Leon Luck, Keith Saxton and Bob Wallace, all of Pullman.  Eighteen other members of the Pullman club hold this honor.