PULLMAN, Wash. — Julie L. Andsager, faculty member at Washington State University’s Edward R. Murrow School of Communication, will receive the 2003 Krieghbaum Under-40 Award from the Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication.

The award honors a journalism/mass communication faculty member under the age of 40 who has made outstanding contributions in teaching, research, and public service. According to Jennifer McGill, executive director of AEJMC, this is one of the association’s highest awards.

“Some of the best scholars in mass communication education have won the Krieghbaum,” Andsager said. “It’s an honor to think that my peers recognize my work in even remotely the same way.” Andsager’s research is focused on gender and the media, primarily related to media coverage of health issues and public support for freedom of expression.

Erica Austin, a faculty member at the Murrow School, and Annie Lang, a former professor at the school, have also won the AEJMC award. “I don’t know of another school to have three of its faculty selected for the recognition,” Austin said.

The award was created and funded by the late Hillier Krieghbaum in 1980. Krieghbaum was president of AEJMC and is a former New York University professor emeritus. The award includes a cash prize of $1,000.

Andsager’s award will be presented at the AEJMC’s national convention in Kansas City, Mo., at 10:15 a.m. Aug. 1.