PULLMAN, Wash. — The College of Sciences at Washington State University honored its outstanding students, faculty, alumni and staff at its 10th annual recognition ceremony April 4.

The 2003 WSU College of Science award winners include James Shima, Distinguished Student Award; Brent House, Outstanding Graduate Student Achievement Award; Donald Matteson, Distinguished Faculty Award; William Graber, Distinguished Alumnus Award; Howard Hosick, Thomas E. Lutz Memorial Teaching Award; Norah McCabe, Faculty Advising Excellence Award; Richard Gill, Young Faculty Achievement Award; Meade Snoddy, Outstanding Classified Staff Award; and Joan Folwell, Outstanding Administrative/Professional Staff Award.

Shima, a senior majoring in biochemistry, received a Distinguished Student Award for his outstanding leadership as a researcher using advanced gene chip array technology. Shima, a 1999 graduate of Forks High School, is earning his degree through the WSU Honors College.

House, a microbiology doctoral candidate in the WSU School of Molecular Biosciences, received an Outstanding Graduate Student Achievement Award for his excellence as a researcher and for developing new technologies that may revolutionize many kinds of genomic analyses. House, a 1989 of Richland High School, is also noted for his excellent instruction and contributions to the Microbiology Graduate Association.

Matteson, a faculty member in WSU’s chemistry department and internationally renowned expert in organo-boron chemistry, received a Distinguished Faculty Award. Matteson has served as a member of the Faculty Senate and as president of the Faculty Association for Scholarship and Research. His past honors include a WSU Distinguished Faculty Address and a Sahlin Award for excellence in research.

Graber, senior vice president and chief financial officer of McKesson Corp. in San Francisco, received the college’s Distinguished Alumnus Award. Graber earned a bachelor’s degree in mathematic from WSU in 1965. He is a member of the Financial Executives Institute, serves on the board of directors of Genesis Worldwide, Inc., and is a trustee of the WSU Foundation. He lives in Orinda, Calif.

Hosick, biological sciences faculty member, received a Thomas E. Lutz Memorial Teaching Award for his dedication to undergraduate education. He teaches highly popular courses in biology and zoology, and was recognized for his contribution to the Honors College and his support for undergraduates who work with him in his research laboratory.

McCabe, a molecular biosciences instructor, was awarded a Faculty Advising Excellence Award. McCabe advises students with unfailing attention to detail and their needs, enthusiasm and good humor, one nominator said.

Gill, faculty member in the Program in Environmental Science and Regional Planning, received a Young Faculty Achievement Award for excellence in teaching, extraordinary productivity as a researcher and exceptional service to his department and WSU through participation on a variety of committees and panels.

Snoddy, an information technology systems specialist in the technical services department, received an Outstanding Classified Staff Award. Snoddy was noted for his outstanding professionalism and service to students, faculty and staff of the college.

Folwell, a preceptor in the School of Biological Sciences, was awarded an Outstanding Administrative/Professional Staff Award for her dedication to providing the best possible laboratory instruction. Folwell sets up instructional labs and is adept in the use of microscopes.