PULLMAN, Wash. — Winners in the seventh annual Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Arts and Essay Contest Awards Banquet have been announced. All Pullman School District students, the winners of the YWCA of Washington State University sponsored contest including the following:

First grade — Sara Libby, Jolene Herzog and Taylor Gordon.

Second grade — Anna Guo.

Third grade — Karsten Simonsen, Riley Harkins and Taylor Troutt.

Fourth grade — Stephanie Logan, Jacob Welker and Corinth Stiner.

Fifth grade — Kayla Worthey, Megan Konkel, Mark Rutherford and Paul Gillentine.

Sixth grade — Andrew Beckham and Ellen Simonsen.

Eighth grade — Ingamar Saberi, Reed Michaelsen, Raquel Marcelo and James Campbell.

They will be honored during an awards banquet set for 6 p.m. Jan. 31 in Washington State University’s Campus Compton Union Building Cascade Room 127, according to Debi Robinson-Smith of the YWCA of WSU.

Winning entries celebrated the life and teachings of Dr. King, a Nobel Peace Prize winner and one of the world’s greatest advocates of non-violent social change.

During the banquet teachers will be applauded for their classroom projects. They are kindergarten teacher Dee Baumgartner of Franklin Elementary School; first grade teachers Marion Yonge of Sunnyside Elementary School, Marci Sontgerath of Franklin, and Penny Betts, Vivian Werner, Meg Berg, and Rena Mincks, all of Jefferson Elementary School; second grade teachers Mary Hughes, Kelly Pollestad and Margi Vogel, all of Jefferson; third grade teachers Jan Patrick and Elaine Kelly, both of Jefferson, and Rosalie Harms of Franklin; and fourth grade teacher Susan Ellwanger of Jefferson. Also to be honored are WSU MLK Scholars and area business leaders.

For more information and to reserve a banquet ticket, contact the YWCA at (509) 335-3916 or ywca@wsunix.wsu.edu. Tickets are $10 and should be reserved by Monday, Jan. 27.