MEDIA ADVISORY: Daniel Schorr will be available for media interviews from 1:40 to 2:30 p.m., April 10, at the Lewis Alumni Centre on Washington State University’s Pullman campus.

Daniel Schorr to Speak at WSU Murrow Symposium April 10, Seattle’s CityClub on April 9

PULLMAN, Wash. — Daniel Schorr, veteran newsman and senior news analyst for National Public Radio, will be the featured speaker at Washington State University’s 2002 Edward R. Murrow Symposium, slated for Wednesday, April 10, in Pullman.

Schorr, who will receive the 2002 Edward R. Murrow Award for Lifetime Achievement in Broadcasting from WSU’s Murrow School of Communication, will speak at 7 p.m. in the Beasley Performing Arts Coliseum. His presentation, “Forgive Us Our Press Passes: America and the Media,” is based on his book by the same name. The talk is free and open to the public.

Schorr also will appear in Seattle on Tuesday, April 9, at a noon CityClub 20th Anniversary Founders Forum luncheon moderated by KING 5 TV news anchor Margaret Larson at the Sheraton Seattle Hotel. For more information about the CityClub program in Seattle, call (206) 682-7395.

Schorr is the last of the legendary Murrow news team at CBS News and is now senior news analyst for National Public Radio. During a career spanning more than six decades, Schorr has covered every major event from the McCarthy anti-Communist hearings of the 1950s to the Clinton impeachment hearings of the 1990s. As CBS’ chief Watergate correspondent, he won three Emmys for his coverage.

Schorr’s 20-year career as a foreign correspondent began in 1946. Having served in U.S. Army intelligence during World War II, he began writing from Western Europe for the Christian Science Monitor and later The New York Times, witnessing postwar reconstruction, the Marshall Plan and the creation of the NATO Alliance.

Schorr reported alongside Murrow and Walter Cronkite for CBS, started CNN with Ted Turner and is the recipient of numerous honors including the George Polk commentary award, Peabody, Alfred I. Dupont-Columbia University Golden Baton for Exceptional Contributions to Radio and Television Reporting and Commentary, and the Distinguished Service Award of the American Society of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communications. He also has been inducted into the Society of Professional Journalists Hall of Fame.

In 1996, he received the Alred I. DuPont-Columbia University Golden Baton in the category, “Exceptional Contributions to Radio and Television Reporting and Commentary.” The Golden Baton is the most prestigious award in the field of broadcasting and is considered the equivalent of the Pulitzer Prize. Schorr’s other awards include a Peabody personal award for “a lifetime of uncompromising reporting of the highest integrity”; the George Polk radio commentary award for “interpretations of national and international events”; and the Distinguished Service Award of the American Society of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communications.

Schorr has written several books, including “Clearing the Air,” “Don’t Get Sick in America,” “Staying Tuned: A Life in Journalism” and “Forgive Us Our Press Passes, Selected Works by Daniel Schorr (1972-1998).”

Prior to his talk in Pullman, Schorr will do a book-signing at the The Bookie from 10:30 to 11:45 a.m. A 4:30 p.m. reception and 5:30 p.m. Symposium Awards Dinner, also scheduled at Beasley, will precede the evening program.

The Murrow Symposium is a free, daylong event focused on the educational, leadership and career opportunities available in the field of communication. Students who attend interact with top communication professionals, attend college classes, and learn about WSU’s nationally recognized program offering training in journalism, broadcasting, advertising, public relations and speech communication.

The Murrow Symposium was established by the Edward R. Murrow School of Communication at WSU to honor Murrow, one of its most distinguished alumnus and a 1930 graduate in speech. Murrow became director of CBS’s European news operations during World War II and later rose to television fame in 1951 with the news documentary “See It Now.”

Past winners of the Edward R. Murrow Award at WSU include Walter Cronkite, Ted Turner, Bernard Shaw, Sam Donaldson, Al Neuharth, Keith Jackson and Frank Blethen. For more information about the CityClub program in Seattle, please call (206) 682-7395.

Registration deadline for the symposium is April 1. For more information, see . For information regarding the School of Communication see .