PULLMAN, Wash. — The dean of the Washington State University College of Pharmacy has been selected to serve on the board of directors of the American Society for Pharmacy Law.

Dean William E. Fassett will begin serving at the board’s annual business meeting March 16, in Philadelphia, Penn. Fassett teaches pharmacy law at WSU and has been the dean since July 1999.

The ASPL is a national association of pharmacists, attorneys, educators and others with an interest in pharmacy law. It publishes a newsletter, Rx Ipsa Loquitur, and the Pharmacy Law Annual. It also awards a prize, the Simonsmeier Award, for the best paper on pharmacy law presented at the annual meeting. The award is named in honor of former long-time editor of Rx Ipsa Loquitur, Larry Simonsmeier, who is also dean emeritus of the WSU College of Pharmacy.