PULLMAN, Wash.–The Washington State University Police Department will present Citations of Valor to the eight department officers who were on the front lines during this spring’s riot in ceremonies Friday, July 24, at 2 p.m. in the Cascade Room of the WSU Compton Union Building.
Being honored for valor are Capt. Michael R. Kenny, Sgt. Scott P. West, Cpl. Michael Larsen, Cpl. Rob Macy, Cpl. Bryan Jacobson, and officers Danielle Walker, George McGinty and Kevin Hatley.
Certificates of Commendation also will be presented to officers Richard K. Stephens and Theresa M. Memmel for critical support roles played during the May 3 incident.
Members of the WSU and Pullman communities are invited to attend the ceremony.
Similar recognitions have been made by the Pullman Police Department and the Washington State Patrol to officers involved in controlling the situation, and they have been commended by the university for their professional conduct during the confrontation.