PULLMAN, Wash. — A series of open forums has been scheduled next week for candidates for the position of vice provost for academic affairs at Washington State University.
Mechanical and materials engineering Professor O.A. “Gus” Plumb will be the first of four WSU faculty members to be interviewed for the post. Plumb will deliver a presentation, “The Role of the Vice Provost for Academic Affairs at WSU,” open to the university community, at 9 a.m. Monday, July 20, in Room 53 of the Murrow Communications Center.
Others candidates and their public presentations are Larry James, associate dean of the College of Agriculture and Home Economics, 3 p.m. Tuesday, July 21; Douglas D. Baker, professor of management, WSU Vancouver, 3 p.m. Wednesday, July 22; and Herbert H. Hill, professor of chemistry, 3 p.m. Thursday, July 23.
The presentations are scheduled in Room 53 of the Murrow Center and will be televised to WHETS classrooms at the branch campuses and the Intercollegiate Center for Nursing Education.
Geoffrey Gamble, former vice provost for academic affairs, resigned earlier this year to become provost at the University of Vermont. Kenneth Casavant has served as interim vice provost.
Plumb has been a member of the WSU faculty since 1976 and has served as associate dean for instruction and administration of the College of Engineering and Architecture and chair of the Department of Mechanical and Materials Engineering.
James came to WSU as an assistant professor of agricultural engineering in 1977. He served as chair of the department, as well as associate dean and interim dean of the College of Agriculture and Home Economics.
Baker has been a member of the faculty since 1981 and was vice chair and chair of the university’s Faculty Senate from 1993-95. He moved to the WSU Vancouver campus in 1996.
Hill joined the chemistry department faculty in 1976. He has served as the director of the Office of Grant and Research Development in 1985-87, chair of the Graduate Studies Committee, 1991-92, and chairs the Nuclear Reactor Review and Radiation Safety committees.