PULLMAN, Wash.– Eighteen elementary, junior high and middle school students from Pullman and Moscow, Idaho, have won honors in the 1998 Washington State University Martin Luther King Jr. Educational Outreach arts and essay competition.
As a means to encourage students to reflect on the work of the Rev. King, the competition featured coloring contests for kindergarten and first grade students, an art contest on community service for second and third graders, and essays for students in fourth through eighth grade.
Winners, selected by judges chosen by the WSU MLK Presidential Outreach Committee, received gift certificates for use in the “Bookie” (WSU Students Book Corporation), Pullman, with $50 for first and $25 for second.
Contest winners are (first and second places respectively): Kindergarten-Siannon Wyche and Annie Krautkraemer, both of Sunnyside Elementary School, Pullman; First grade-Vishnu Manoranjan, Jefferson Elementary School, Pullman, and Erika Sieg, Sunnyside; Second grade-Kourtney Mundell and Jenny Acevedo-Barga, both of Sunnyside; Third grade-Josh Neff and Katie Fracz, both from McDonald Elementary School, Moscow; Fourth grade-Rosa Spaeth and Ian McLean, both of Sunnyside; Fifth grade-Bethany Saperstein and Christina Hawbaker, both of Franklin Elementary School, Pullman; and Sixth grade-Amy Knight, Lincoln Middle School, Pullman, and Mandi Richards, McDonald; Seventh grade-Jonathon Gaffney and Eija Hodgin, and Eighth grade-Liz Bageant and Emily Bennett, all of Moscow Junior High School.
Winning students were recognized during the YWCA of WSU Racial Justice Conference banquet Jan. 30. The conference was held Jan. 30-31 at Pullman High School and WSU.
Committee chair was Victoria Salinas, WSU Chicano/Latino Student Center. Members included Sandra Owen, Pullman School District; Ebony Ross, WSU student; and Joann Muneta, Latah County Human Rights Task Force; with assistance from Beth Umbreit, Pullman School District; and Sandy McKenzie, WSU Multicultural Student Services Counseling Services. Judges were David Iyall, Alice Coil, Esther Louie, Raphael Guillory, Ellen Lin and Annette Williams.